EQ6 Mounts

Reviews and questions about new and old equipment.
Share with us your latest purchase or discuss equipment that you are currently using
Post Reply
Message
Author
cstone
Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 8:07 pm
Location: Bury

EQ6 Mounts

#1 Post by cstone » Sat Jul 28, 2012 11:41 am

Just wondering what the differences are in the EQ6 range of mounts?
  • EQ6 SYNTREK Deluxe Super Heavy-Duty Equatorial Mount
    EQ6 PRO SkyScan GoTo Equatorial Mount
http://www.skywatcher.com/swtinc/compar ... 70&id18=75

From what I'm reading the EQ6 PRO SkyScan GoTo has built in Go To and I'm assuming its built in to the handset but to clarify this in my own mind can the EQ6 SYNTREK be used as Go-To from a laptop using EQ-Mod?
Celestron 11" Telescope
Eq6 Pro Mount
Eq5 Mount
EQ Mod
QHY5 Guide camera
Cannon 1000D SLR Camera

I choose to image with an 11" SCT Celestron in this decade and do the other things, not because they are easy, but because they are hard......

User avatar
DRatledge
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 8:27 pm
Location: Adlington
Contact:

Re: EQ6 Mounts

#2 Post by DRatledge » Sat Jul 28, 2012 12:22 pm

Carl,
They seem the same mount (apart from colour?) but the pro has the goto handset. For eqmod you don't need the handset so perhaps if eqmod is the only requirement and you can live with black then perhaps the syntrek could save some money. Both Gerald and Keith have the pro and eqmod works ok but we don't, as far as I know, have anyone using the syntrek with eqmod for proof that it works with that mount.

User avatar
rwilkinson
Member
Posts: 1284
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 6:47 pm
Location: Bolton
Contact:

Re: EQ6 Mounts

#3 Post by rwilkinson » Sat Jul 28, 2012 1:24 pm

Given than upgrading an EQ5 to GoTo involves swapping the complete motor/gearbox assembly as well as adding the controller, I was wondering if this may also be the case with the EQ6 Trek and Scan versions, but according to the link:
http://www.skywatcher.com/swtinc/produc ... class2=302
apparently not...
The HEQ5 and EQ6 SynTrek mounts can be upgraded to computerized SynScan system by simply changing the hand control to SynScan hand control.
And reading the detailed specs on the SynTrek, the motors will slew at 800x normal speed - so they will be fine for GoTo.

I believe that Dave, Gerald & Keith use the EQMod system rather than their handsets anyway.
Last edited by rwilkinson on Sat Jul 28, 2012 2:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cstone
Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 8:07 pm
Location: Bury

Re: EQ6 Mounts

#4 Post by cstone » Sat Jul 28, 2012 1:55 pm

Also looking at the EqMod site, the specification with regards to the gears etc are identical
http://eq-mod.sourceforge.net/reqindex.html

Image
Celestron 11" Telescope
Eq6 Pro Mount
Eq5 Mount
EQ Mod
QHY5 Guide camera
Cannon 1000D SLR Camera

I choose to image with an 11" SCT Celestron in this decade and do the other things, not because they are easy, but because they are hard......

imartin

Re: EQ6 Mounts

#5 Post by imartin » Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:19 pm

In answer to Davids point - I use a SynTrek EQ6 with Eqmod.
I specifically bought the SynTrek rather than the SynScan as it saved me in the region of £120. I have no problems using it , works really well.

Ian

Post Reply