It is currently Thu Feb 22, 2018 6:51 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: First step towards Astrophotography
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 3:19 pm 
Hi Everyone,

Newbie alert! (apologies for any silly questions in advance)

I am quite new to astronomy, having only purchasing my first telescope over the festive period (an 80mm reflector). I bought it to fuel a genuine thirst for knowledge for 'whats out there', and boy has it done that. After spending what few clear nights we've had outside and shouting the wife to 'come and see what I've spotted' every 5 minutes I know this is turning into a (no doubt expensive) passion!

After attending the first BAS meeting last week it was great to mingle with folks sharing the same passion, from all different levels of expertise and getting different opinions on equipment, techniques etc and after speaking with a chap (who I can't remember his name!) who was big on his 'Astrophotography', I instantly knew this was the area I want to progress in.

He advised that, for astrophotography, refractors are the way to go. So after I got home I started to look what 2nd hand telescopes are for sale nearby I have come across a Bresser Skylux (70mm) refractor going for £40, which seems quite cheap, however I have been assured it's all in good nick, hardly been used etc etc. But I thought I'd best speak to the experts first!

I was hoping for some of your advice on -

Whether you guys think this would be fit for purpose for starting in astrophotography? - On a budget at first.
What your opinions are on this scope?
Anymore tips on getting started in astrophotography - This would be massively appreciated!

Thanks in advance and I look forward to getting to know you all over the coming months!
Rick

Post subject: Re: First step towards Astrophotography
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 4:00 pm 

Hi Rick, and welcome aboard.