It is currently Wed Jan 24, 2018 7:54 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Missing "Thresholds" panel in IRIS
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 12:39 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 6:47 pm
Posts: 1248
Location: Bolton
I've just been helping Len to fix a problem with running IRIS on his new Windows8 machine: the "Thresholds" panel (with the sliders) had disappeared off his screen, and the toolbar button to recall it was greyed-out. He'd even tried re-installing the program to no avail.

It turned out that the missing panel had been open all the time, but its position had moved off the visible area of his screen and each time IRIS started it recalled the last position of this window from the IRIS.INI file, so it was always "invisible".
The solution is to open this .INI (text) file in NotePad, manually change the Threshold_X and Threshold_Y fields to smaller values (e.g. 600, 400), and re-save it. Then when you open IRIS the panel will be visible on-screen so that you can move it to a convenient location.

Then the only problem is to find the .INI file - in WinXP and earlier systems it was always in C:\WINDOWS\, but on my Win7 machine I (eventually) found it in C:\Users\user\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Windows\, and Len had to use the Search for "hidden" files function to locate it on his Win8 machine.

Anyway, now that he's got the program working properly, he'll be able to make an animation of the movement of comet Siding Spring near to Mars which he captured the other night...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing "Thresholds" panel in IRIS
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 2:53 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 8:27 pm
Posts: 370
Location: Adlington
Ross,
The same thing happens if you use IRIS on your laptop at full resolution and then connect to the projector for a BAS workshop session! The projector is only 1024 pixels wide and if you are in the habit of putting the stretch window on the right it will be invisible once the projector connects and unreachable. It is not just new PCs. I get around it by (temporarily) changing the resolution and moving the window to the left hand side.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group